Prizegiving – Individual Trophies & Prizes 2015

Dux of School 2015/2016Freya Baptist

Dux 2015/2016

Elizabeth Matthew Memorial Trophy – Bethan Townsend

Lauder Memorial Trophy – Innis Taylor

Harry Valentine Memorial Trophy  for Citizenship – Alasdair MacDonald (S4)

Neil Wilkie Memorial Trophy for Service to the School – Holly Morrison

Junior School Trophy for Service & Achievement – Sara Johnston

John MacGillivray Gaelic Trophy – Kenneth MacKenzie (S6)

June Davis Miller Award for Art – Charlie Bulmer

MacKenzie Targe for Creative Writing – Alfie Gudgeon

Doctor Hunter Cup for Piping – Fraser Wotherspoon

Lauder prize for Music – Freya Baptist

Albert Roux Languages Cup – Jamie MacLean

Sheona MacDonald Memorial Quaich – Max Conway

Library Trophy – Jasmine Brown

Mathematics Achievement Trophy – Freya Baptist

Science Achievement Trophy – Alfie Gudgeon

Social Subjects Achievement Trophy – Lucas Jackson

Drama Service Trophy – Carys Townsend

Clan MacKenzie Golf Trophy – Joseph Smith

Football Player of the Year – David MacGregor

Basketball Player of the Year – Sara Johnston & Referdinand Balanquit

Cross-country medals – (junior) Emma MacDonald & David MacGregor, Iain Nelson, Evan McPhail; (senior) Sofie Banister & Jordan Gorman

Widdows Shield for Swimming – Alasdair MacDonald (S4)

Click here for the names of the Athletics champions previously published.

Prizegiving 2015Senior Athletic champions Connor Moore and Laura Russell

All S1 were presented with John Muir Awards achieved as part of their SMART Course.  A number of pupils from S1- S4 were awarded certificates of Personal Achievement.

Several pupils were also awarded certificates of perfect attendance:

Matthew Mackenzie – for the second year running

Morven MacLean

Lewis Brady

Anna Cameron – for the second year running

Referdinand Balanquit

Joseph Smith – also for the second year running.

Maths Challenge certificates

At Junior level: Best in School and a silver certificate goes to Harry Dalzell

At Intermediate level: Best in School and a bronze certificate is awarded to Mark McLean

At Senior level: Best in School and a bronze certificate is awarded to Bruce Wiseman

House CreditsAll the different competitions that take place during the school year contribute credits towards the House Championship. However a significant proportion of the total credits are earned for their houses by individual pupils throughout the year.

This year, we have a brand new trophy for the pupil who wins the most credits, the Credit Quaich. In joint third place, with 29 credits each were Nadia Fenton for Tollaidh and Sara Johnston for Maree. In second place, with 30 credits is Iain Nelson, also Maree. Just one credit ahead, with 31 credits, the first winner of the Credit Quaich is Eilidh MacDonald of Kerry.
Prizegiving 2015The pupils with the most credits in each year were in S1, Nadia Fenton, in S2 Scarlet Pickering, in S3 Eilidh MacDonald, in S4 Eilidh Johnston, in S5 Charlotte Kelman and in S6 Holly Morrison, so congratulations to all of them.

House Shield – The winning house gained 411 points, the second placed house 372 points and third place was 327 points. The winners of the House competition 2014-2015 are Maree.

Prizegiving 2015During Prizegiving the new senior prefects were announced and presented with their badges. Details are available here.

In the Headteacher’s speech, Mr Port mentioned and thanked those staff that have either retired this year or are moving to new jobs. Mrs MacLeod, Ms Leitch, Mrs Newman, Mrs Campbell, Ms Mackison, Mr Avenel and Mr Johnston. All will be missed. Mr Port also welcomed new staff Miss Smith (Geography) and Dr Brindle (English). The appointment of a biology teacher is currently underway.

Mr Port once again gave his thanks to all the school staff for their unstinting dedication to the pupils and the work of the school. Ms Mackison was presented with flowers as thanks for presenting the prizes and Dr Caley also received flowers in thanks for organising the event.  All photos were taken by Miss Hunter.

Prizegiving 2015A large number of photos of award winners can be seen here on the website.

You can watch the 5min slide presentation review of the year on Facebook by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s